Skip to content

Goa Assembly Elections Schedule 2012- Candidates and Results Info

Assembly elections in Goa are on the cards. The elections to Goa Assembly will be held on 3rd March 2012 and counting will be on the next day itself. The Election Commission of India is making all preparations to held Assembly elections in 2012. Goa Assembly has 40 constituencies. In 2007 elections, Goa voted for an hung assembly with Congress leading the numbers with just 16 seats. Digambar Kamat of the Congress Party secured the power with the support of other like minded parties in the state. Important parties in the state are Congress, BJP, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) etc. Though Goa Assembly expires in May- June 2012, the Election Commission is likely to go for early elections along with Uttarakhand and Manipur.  Apart from Goa, big states like Uttar Pradesh and Punjab also going for Assembly polls in 2012. Following are details of constituencies, candidates list, Assembly elections schedule 2012 and results info of Goa:

1. Issue of Elections notification: December 2011
2. Last date for filing nominations: February 2012
3. Scrutiny of nominations: February 2012
4. Last date for withdrawal of candidature: February 2012
5. Date of Polls in Goa: 3rd March 2012
6. Counting of Votes: 4th March 2012

Following is the present strength of parties in Goa Assembly (After 2007 elections):

1) INC (Indian National Congress): 16 seats
2) BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party): 14 seats
3) NCP (Nationalist Congress Party): 03 seats
4) MG (Maharashtravadi Gomanthak): 02 seats
5) SGF: 02 seats
6) UGDP: 01 seat
7) Others: 02 seats

One significant feature of Goa is its small Assembly segments. A vote swing of just a few percentage or hundreds of votes will result in substantial changes in terms of majority of winning candidates. Often this will put the politicians and candidates on the tenterhooks. Following is the list of MLA Constituencies in Goa and their present representatives:

Ac No. Ac Name Party Candidate Name
1 Mandrem Bharatiya Janata Party PARSEKAR LAXMIKANT
2 Pernem Bharatiya Janata Party SOPTE DAYANAND RAGHUNATH
3 Dargalim Indian National Congress ALGAONKAR MANOHAR TRIMBAK
4 Tivim Nationalist Congress Party NILKANTH HALARNKAR
5 Mapusa Bharatiya Janata Party FRANCIS D'SOUZA
6 Siolim Bharatiya Janata Party DAYANAND MANDREKAR
7 Calangute Indian National Congress AGNELO FERNANDES
8 Saligao Bharatiya Janata Party DILIP DNYANESHWAR PARULEKAR
9 Aldona Indian National Congress DAYANAND GANESH NARVEKAR
11 Taleigao United Goans Democratic Party MONSERRATE ATANSIO J.
12 Santa Cruz Indian National Congress FERNANDES VICTORIA
13 St. Andre Indian National Congress SILVEIRA FRANCISCO
14 Cumbarjua Indian National Congress MADKAIKAR PANDURANG ARJUN
15 Bicholim Bharatiya Janata Party PATNEKAR RAJESH TULSIDAS
16 Maem Bharatiya Janata Party ANANT V. SHET
17 Pale Indian National Congress GURUDAS PRABHAKAR GAUNS
18 Poriem Indian National Congress RANE PRATAPSINGH RAOJI
20 Ponda Indian National Congress NAIK RAVI
21 Priol Maharashtrawadi Gomantak DHAVALIKAR PANDURANG ALIAS DEEPAK
23 Siroda Bharatiya Janata Party MAHADEV NAIK
24 Mormugao Bharatiya Janata Party NAIK MILIND SAGUN
25 Vasco Da Gama Nationalist Congress Party D SOUZA JOSE PHILIP
26 Cortalim Indian National Congress MAUVIN HELIODORO GODINHO
27 Loutulim Indian National Congress ALEXIO SEQEIRA
28 Benaulim Nationalist Congress Party PACHECO XAVIER FRANCISCO
29 Fatorda Bharatiya Janata Party DAMODAR (DAMU) G. NAIK
30 Margao Indian National Congress KAMAT DIGAMBAR
32 Navelim Save Goa Front ALEMAO CHURCHILL
33 Velim Indian National Congress RODRIGUES FILIPE NERY
34 Cuncolim Indian National Congress ALEMAO JOAQUIM
35 Sanvordem Independent ANIL VASUDEV SALGAONKAR
36 Sanguem Bharatiya Janata Party GAONKAR VASUDEV MENG
37 Curchorem Indian National Congress SHYAM GOPINATH SATARDEKAR
38 Quepem Indian National Congress CHANDRAKANT (BABU) KAVALEKAR
39 Canacona Bharatiya Janata Party PAI KHOT VIJAY
40 Poinguinim Bharatiya Janata Party TAWADKAR RAMESH
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *