Skip to content

Highlights of Telangana Draft Bill 2013 for AP Reorganisation

The Union Cabinet has cleared the Telangana Draft Bill (Reorganisation of Andhra Pradesh Bill - 2013) on 5th December 2013. In a historic cabinet meet, the Central Government has finally decided to go with the CWC resolution and announced the Telangana with 10 districts. The districts include Adilabad, Nizamabad, Khammam, Medak, Rangareddy, Hyderabad, Warangal, Nalgonda, Mahaboobnagar and Karimnagar. Following are the highlights of Telangana Draft Bill:

1) Hyderabad will be the common capital of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana states for a period not exceeding 10 years.

2) The Telangana governor assisted by two central government advisors will look after the law and order issues in Hyderabad till the time it remains the common capital for AP and Telangana.

3) Telangana will have 10 districts and the rest of Andhra Pradesh comprises 13 districts.

4) The Governor of Telangana will be entrusted with the special responsibility pf protecting life, liberty and property of all the people residing in the common capital area.

5) New capital for Andhra Pradesh will be identified by an expert committee within 45 days. The government of India will give financial and other assistance to the creation of a new capital for residuary state of AP.

6) Government of India will set up full mechanism to take care of water distribution of projects on Krishna and Godavari rivers.

7) Polavaram will be declared as a national project and the Government of India will execute the entire project.

8) The Article 371 D of the Indian Constitution will continue for the both states.

9) Existing admission procedures and quotas in higher technical and medical institutions will continue in both states for a period not exceeding five years.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *