Skip to content

Profile of Pulivendula Assembly Constituency 2011

Pulivendla (Pulivendula) is a town, a mandal and a Municipality in Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh. Pulivendula has gained popularity as an MLA Constituency as it is a stronghold of late chief minister YS Raja Sekhar Reddy family. The YSR family has been representing the Pulivendula Constituency since 1978. YSR himself elected six terms from the constituency. After the tragic death of YSR in office, YS Vijaya Lakshmi (Vijayamma) elected unopposed in 2009 elections. Political developments in the aftermath of YSR death lead to resignation of YS Vijaya Lakshmi to her MLA seat and Congress Party following her son YS Jagan Mohan Reddy's strategies. Bye elections to Pulivendula MLA constituency will be held on 8th May 2011. YS Vijaya Lakshmi's victory is most likely though the reluctant YS Vivekananda Reddy is in the fray from Congress Party.

Contestants for 2011 Bye Elections to Pulivendule Assembly (MLA) Constituency:

1. YS Viajaya Lakshmi (YSR Congress Party)
2. YS Vivekananda Reddy (Congress)
3. B.Tech. Ravi (TDP)

Key Voter Statistics for Pulivendula Assembly Constituency in 2009 elections

1. Male Electors: 90168
2. Female Electors : 94108
3. Total Electors : 194276

MLAs of Pulivendula Constituency till the date:

1. 1955: P Basi Reddy (Congress)
2. 1962: C. Bali Reddy (Independent)
3. 1967: P Basi Reddy (Congress)
4. 1972: P Basi Reddy (Congress)
5. 1978: Dr.Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy (Congress)
6. 1983: Dr.Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy (Congress I)
7. 1985: Dr.Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy (Congress)
8. 1989: Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy (Congress)
9. 1991: Y.S. Purushotham Reddy (Congress)
10. 1994: Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy (Congress)
11. 1999: Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy (Congress)
12. 2004: Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy (Congress)
13. 2009: Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy (Congress)
14. 2009: YS Vijaya Lakshmi (Congress)
15. 2011:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *