Skip to content

Profile of S Jaipal Reddy of Congress Party

Sudini Jaipal Reddy is senior leader of the Congress Party from Andhra Pradesh. He served as a Central Minister in the cabinets of Dr. Manmohan Singh. He held the portfolios of Information and Broadcasting, Rural Development and Petroleum and Natural Resources. Presently he is representing newly carved Chevella Lok Sabha Constituency from Ranga Reddy district in Andhra Pradesh. Earlier he was elected from Miryalaguda Constituency. He was also a member (MLA) of Andhra Pradesh Assembly during 1969 - 84 for four terms. Jaipal Reddy emerged as strong contender for the Chief Ministership of the Andhra Pradesh. Following is the brief profile of S Jaipal Reddy:

Parents of Jaipal Reddy are Durga Reddy and Smt. Yashodamma. He was born on 16-01-1942 at Madgul in Mahbubnagar district of Andhra Pradesh. He was married to Smt. Lakshmi on 07 May 1960 and they have two sons and a daughter. Jaipal Reddy Studied M.A. (English), Bachelor of Journalism (BCJ) and educated at Osmania University, Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh). His permanent address is at H.No. 6-70, Mudgul Village and Mandal, Mahbubnagar- 509001, Andhra Pradesh. Jaipal Reddy occupied several important positions in the Congress Party, Janata Party and also in the Governments at state and central levels. He served as a President of Andhra Pradesh Youth Congress during 1965-71. He was General Secretary of Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee during 1969-72. He was elected as an MLA for four times during 1969 - 84.

He joined in Janata Party in 1970s and played crucial role in that party as a Member of National Executive during 1979-88. Jaipal Reddy was elected to 8th Lok Sabha in 1984 and held the position of General Secretary of Janata Party during 1985-88. He was a member of Rajya Sabha during 1990-96 and 1997-98 and also served as leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha from July 22, 1991 to June 28, 1992. Jaipal reddy served as Union Cabinet Minister for Information and Broadcasting during 1997-98 and re-elected to 12th Loksabha in 1998 for the second term. He was re-elected for 3rd and 4th terms in 1999 and 2004. He again held the portfolio of Information and Broadcasting and Culture in the Union Cabinet. He elected to Lok Sabha from Chevella Constituency in 2009. He is presently serving as Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *