Skip to content

The Election Commission of India has announced bye elections schedule for the 7 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh. Out of 7 segments, 6 are in Telangana Region. The constituencies that are going for the elections are Mahaboobnagar, Nagarkarnool, Kollapur (Mahaboobnagar district), Adilabad, Kamareddy (Nizamabad district), Station Ghanpur (Warangal district) and Kovur (Nellore district). Following is the schedule of bye elections 2012 along with details of probable list of candidates of Congress, TDP, TRS, Dates for Counting of votes and Results.

Polling Schedule for Bye Elections 2012:

1) Commencement of Nominations: 22nd February 2012
2) Last Date for filing Nominations: 29th February 2012
3) Scrutiny of Nominations: March 1st, 2012
4) Last date for withdrawal of nominations: March 3, 2012
5) Date of Polling: March 18, 2012 (Sunday - 8 AM to 5 PM)
6) Counting of Votes and Declaration of Results: March 21, 2012

Following are reasons for the bye elections:

1) Mahaboobnagar: Death of sitting MLA Rajeswar Reddy
2) Kollapur, Station Ghanpur, Nagarkarnool, Adilabad, Kamareddy Constituencies: Resignation of sitting MLAs of these constituencies Jupally Krishna Rao, Rajaiah, Nagam Janardhan Reddy, Jogu Ramanna, Gampa Goverdhan for their seats and respective parties.
3) Kovur: Assembly Membership of Nallapureddy Prasanna Kumar Reddy has been cancelled under Anti Defection Law.

For Mahaboobnagar constituency, wife of Rajeswar Reddy is likely to contest from the Congress Party. Jupally, Rajaiah, Ramanna, Gampa Goverdhan have already joined in TRS and will be in fray from that party. Nagam Janardhan Reddy may contest as an Independent candidate as he was expelled from TDP. The TDP and Congress Party have to finalise their candidates for most of these seats. YSR Congress Party decided to stay away from bye elections on the gounds of Telangana sentiment.

Here is the probable list of TDP candidates for Bye elections:

1) Kovur: Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy
2) Station Ghanpur: Kadiyam Srihari Vs Rajaiah (TRS)
3) Nagarkurnool: Yet to decide
4) Mahaboobnagar: P Chandrasekhar
5) Kollapur: Jagadeeswar Rao / Harshavardhan Reddy
6) Kamareddy: Puna Rajeswar / Mettu Venugopal
7) Adilabad: Payal Shankar

Other Constituencies that are going for bye election along with Andhra Pradesh are:

1) Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha Constituency (Karnataka)
2) Mansa Assembly Constituency: Gujarat
3) Piravom Assembly Constituency: Kerala
4) Sankaran Kovil Assembly Constituency: Tamilnadu
5) Athgarh Assembly Constituency: Odisha

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...