Skip to content

Y.S.R. District, previously Kadapa / Cuddapah is one of the well known districts in Andhra Pradesh. Dr. Y.S.Rajasekhar Reddy is the highly popular and well known figure of the district. After his untimely death in a helicopter crash in 2009, his son, Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy has become a symbol of the district and most of the MLAs are standing for him in the ongoing political tussle with the Central Leadership of the Congress Party. Kadapa district is very crucial in the region as it is located centrally and well connected with other districts of the region. The district has very unique historical roots and famous poet Yogi Vemana belongs to the district. The district is also known as center of factional politics in the Rayalaseema Region along with Ananthapur District. The district is really cosmopolitan and secular in nature as good number of Hindus, Muslims and Christians living with peace and love.

The politics of the district is mostly dominated by Dr. YSR family. There is a huge following of leaders and masses for the family across the district. Prominent leaders from the district are Late YSR Reddy, YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, YS Vivekananda Reddy, Veera Siva Reddy, D.L. Ravindra Reddy, A. Sai Pratap etc. After the sad demise of Dr. YSR Reddy, his wife Y.S. Vijayamma was elected unopposed as MLA from Pulivendula Assembly Constituency.

General Elections 2009 did not alter political equations in the district with the strong presence of the then Chief Minister Dr. YS Rajasekhar Reddy. The Indian National Congress sweeped the polls in all constituencies, leaving Proddutur seat for the TDP. Following is the list of MLAs and MPs from YSR / Kadapa district. The PRP failed in creating any impact on the political landscape of the district.

1. Pulivendla: Y.S. Vijayamma - Congress Party
2. Badvel: Kamalamma P.M - Congress Party
3. Rayachoti: Gadikota Srikanth Reddy - Congress Party
4. Kamalapuram: Gandluru Veera Siva Reddy - Congress Party
5. Rajampet: Amaranath Reddy Akepati - Congress Party
6. Jammalamadugu: Adi Narayana Reddy Chadipiralla - Congress Party
7. Proddatur: Lingaareddy Mallela- Telugu Desam Party (TDP)
8. Mydukur: Duggireddy Lakshmireddy Ravindra Reddy - Congress Party
9. Kadapa: Ahamadullah Mohammad Syed - Congress Party
10. Kodur: Koramutla Srinivasulu - Congress Party

MPs of Kadapa district:

1. Kadapa: Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy - Congress Party
2. Rajampet: Annayyagari Sai Prathap - Congress Party

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...