Skip to content


Khammam district has been a stronghold of communist parties for a long time. Though there are ups and downs in winning seats in elections, the CPI and CPI (M) have strong mass base on many of the areas, In 209 elections also, the CPI managed to get two Assembly segments from the district. The district has 10 Assembly segments and a Parliament Constituency. Important leaders of the district are Nama Nageswara Rao, Renuka Chowdary, Tummala Nageswara Rao, Ramreddy Venkat Reddy etc.

Khammam is traditionally a bastion of Communist parties. The district is surrounded by Krishna district ( North), both Godavari districts (East), Krishna district (South) and Nalgonda and Warangal Districts (West). Khammam district has huge chunk of ST population that is 5,58,958. This comes about 13.29 percent of the total tribal population of the state. Most of the mandals in the district are populated by tribals named as Koyas, Lambadas, Kondareddis etc.

Khammam district was formed in 1953 with drawing parts from Warangal and East Godavari district. Gradually other talukas were formed. Following are the areas / mandals carved out from other districts to form Khammam district:
1. Warangal District: Khammam, Madhira, Yellandu, Burgampadu and Paloncha (Present Kothagudem)
2. East Godavari district: Bhadrachalam, Nuguru and Venkatapuram

Following are present MLAs and MP of Khammam district.

1 Aswaraopeta: Mithrasena Vaggela – Congress Party
2 Pinapaka: Rega Kantha Rao – Congress Party
3 Yellandu: Abbaiah Vooke – Telugu Desam
4 Kothagudem: Kunamneni Sambasiva Rao – Communist Party of India (CPI)
5 Palair: Venkata Reddy Ramreddy – Congress Party
6 Madira: Bhatti Vikramarka Mallu – Congress Party
7 Bhadrachelam: Kunja Satyavathi – Congress Party
8 Wyra : Chandravathi Banoth – Communist Party of India (CPI)
9 Khammam: Thummala Nageswara Rao – Telugu Desam
10 Sathupalli: Sandra Venkata Veeraiah – Telugu Desam

MPs from Khammam District:

1. Khammam: Nama Nageswara Rao – Telugu Desam (TDP)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...