Skip to content

The Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) is gearing up to face Assembly Elections to be held in the first week of May 2013 in in Karnataka. The KJP has already released first list of its contestants with 69 candidates. Headed by former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, the KJP is likely to have impact on the winning prospects of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Yedyurappa has disclosed that he will contest from Shikaripura constituency in Shimoga district of the state. Following is the list of candidates released by KJP for 5th May 2013 Assembly elections.

B.S. Yedyurappa: Shikaripura Constituency
Shobha Karandlaje: Rajajinagar Constituency in Bangalore

The party has given three seats for women, 14 for SCs and 8 for STs and also 3 each for Christians and Muslims. Other parties in the state, BJP, the Congress and JD (S) are in the process of selecting candidates. It is observed that the Yedyurappa’s KJP has has damaged the prospects of BJP in the recent local body elections. KJP may also release the second list of candidates soon.
Karnataka Assembly has 224 constituencies. In 2008 elections, BJP has won 110 seats and the Congress has secured opposition status.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...