Skip to content

Kurnool District is located in the west-central part of the state of Andhra Pradesh. Most important distinction of the district is producing P.V. Narasimha Rao as Prime Minister of India. Former Chief Minister of AP Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy also belongs to Kurnool district. The 2009 Assembly elections in the district have given upper hand to the Congress Party over its rivals TDP and PRP. The Congress won 8 out of 14 constituencies and TDP managed to get 4 seats leaving 2 for PRP. Important leaders from the district are Bhuma Nagi Reddy, K. Surya Prakash Reddy, SPY Reddy, KE Krishna Murthy, TG Venkatesh etc.

Kurnool district has big chunk of Muslim population. There are 52 Dargahs in Kurnool district located around Thungabhadra and Hundari rivers. The district consists of 3 Revenue Divisions, 54 Revenue Mandals and One Municipal Corporation. The district is one of the biggest in Rayala Seema region with 14 Assembly segments and 2 Parliament Constituencies. Famous temple town of Srisailam is part of Kurnool district.

Following is the list of MLAs of Kurnool District:

1. Kurnool: T.G.Venkatesh – Congress Party (INC)
2. Mantralayam : Y.Balanagi Reddy – Telugu Desam Party (TDP)
3. Adoni : K.Meenakshi Naidu – Telugu Desam Party (TDP)
4. Dhone: Kambalapadu Ediga Krishna Murthy – Telugu Desam Party (TDP)
5. Alur : Patil Neeraja Reddy – Congress Party (INC)
6. Srisailam: Earasu Prathap Reddy – Congress Party (INC)
7. Allagadda: Bhuma Shobha Nagi Reddy – Praja Rajyam Party (PRP)
8. Nandikotkur: Labbi Venkataswamy – Congress Party (INC)
9. Pattikonda : Kambalapadu Edige Prabhakar – Telugu Desam Party (TDP)
10. Panyam: Katasani Ramabhupal Reddy – Congress Party (INC)
11. Nandyal: Silpa Mohan Reddy – Congress Party (INC)
12. Banaganapalle: Katasani Rami Reddy – Praja Rajyam Party (PRP)
13. Kodumur : Parigela Murali Krishna – Congress Party (INC)
14. Yemmiganur : K.Chenna Kesava Reddy – Congress Party (INC)

MPs from Kurnool District:

1. Nandyal : S.P.Y.Reddy – Congress Party (INC)
2. Kurnool: Kotla Jaya Surya Prakash Reddy – Congress Party (INC)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...