Skip to content

Mahabubnagar District is one of the most backward districts in Andhra Pradesh. It is lagging behind in most of the developmental indices such as education, economy, industry and agriculture. The district has produced important political leaders like S. Jaipal Reddy (Union Minister of Urban Development), Nagam Janardhan Reddy, Manda Jagannath, Jupally Krishna Rao etc. Some parts of the district are gradually moving on the development front due to their affinity with Hyderabad, capital city of the state. Though the second biggest river in South India is surrounded by and flows through Mahaboobnagar district, the area has been reeling under drought for quite a long time.

With headquarters in Mahaboobnagar, other important towns in the district are Nagarkurnool, Achampet, Wanaparthi, Jadcherla, Gadwal and Kalwakurthy. The town of Mahboobnagar is known as Palamooru. S. Jaipal Reddy was elected to Parliament from Chevella Constituency of Ranga Reddy district in 2009 elections and taken up the responsibility of Cabinet Minister for Urban Development.

Telugu Desam has been consistently showing its strength in the district. The TDP has bagged 9 Assembly Constituencies out of 14 seats in 2009 general elections. The TRS has failed in making roots into the district even though it's President K. Chandra Sekhar Rao electeld as MP from Mahaboobnagar. Following are MLAs and MPs of Mahaboobnagar district after 2009 elections:

1. Gadwal: Aruna D.K - Congress (INC)
2. Makthal: K.Dayakar Reddy - Telugu Desam (TDP)
3. Kodangal: Anumula Revanth Reddy - Telugu Desam (TDP)
4. Wanaparthy: Ravula Chandra Shekar Reddy - Telugu Desam (TDP)
5. Alampur: Abraham.V.M. - Congress (INC)
6. Narayanpet: Yelkoti Yella Reddy - Telugu Desam (TDP)
7. Kalwakurthy: G.Jaipal Yadav - Telugu Desam (TDP)
8. Jadcherla: M.Chandra Shekar - Telugu Desam (TDP)
9. Devarkadra: Seetha Dayakar Reddy - Telugu Desam (TDP)
10. Achampet: P.Ramulu - Telugu Desam (TDP)
11. Shadnagar: Chowlapally Pratap Reddy - Congress (INC)
12. Mahbubnagar: N.Rajeshwar Reddy - Independent
13. Nagarkurnool: Dr. Nagam Janardhan Reddy - Telugu Desam (TDP)
14. Kollapur: Jupally Krishna Rao - Congress (INC)

Members of Parliament (MPs) in Mahaboobnagar District:

1. Mahaboobnagar: K. Chandrasekhar Rao - Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS)
2. Nagarkurnool: Dr. Manda Jagannath - Congress Party

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...