Skip to content

The DMK (Dravida Munnetra Kajhagam), the party in power in Tamil Nadu has released its first list of candidates for the Assembly elections scheduled to held on 13th April 2011. The DMK has released the list of 119 candidates including its Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi for the ensuing Tamil Nadu elections. Total number of seats in Tamil Nadu Assembly is 234.

The Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu M. Karunanidhi shall contest from Tiruvarur Assembly constituency. MK is likely to launch his poll campaign from the constituency on Wednesday. He contested and won from Chepauk, Saidapet, Anna Nagar and Harbour constituencies earlier, all constituencies are within Chennai. MK Stalin, Deputy Chief Minister and son of Karunanidhi shall contest from Kolathur Assembly Constituency.

The DMK has allocated 11 seats for women candidates. This is about 10 percent of the total seats announced in this phase. The DMK has lost more number of seats to its allies due to pressure tactics implemented by the Congress party in the backdrop of alleged involvement of DMK ministers in 2G spectrum scam. Most surprising part of the seat sharing is allocation of five important seats in Chennai to the Congress Party where the DMK has very strong vote bank.

The DMK has gone the corporate style in selecting the candidates. It has received more than 19,000 applications for tickets. Chief Minister and DMK President along with his senior colleagues in the party conducted lengthy interviews to shortlist and finalise the names of candidates. The DMK is likely to released it manifesto for the elections in a day or two.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...