Skip to content


The new UDF government under the leadership of Oommen Chandy has been formed in Kerala. The Congress party led United Democratic Front (UDF) has won the Assembly Elections 2011 with a very thin majority of just 72 seats in the 140 member Assembly. Senior Congress leader from the state Oommen Chandy was sworn in as the 21st Chief Minister of Kerala on 18th May at the Raj Bhavan in Thiruvananthapuram. Six floor leaders of the UDF coalition also take oath on the occasion. The oath of office and secrecy was administered by Kerala Governor R S Gavai. Oommen Chandy became the Chief Minister of Kerala for the second term after an interim office during 2004-06. Portfolios will be allotted after the full formation of the cabinet. Following is the list of New ministers in Kerala:

1. Oommen Chandy: Chief Minister and General Administration
2. P K Kunhalikutty (IUML)
3. K M Mani (Kerala Congress-M)
4. K P Mohanan (SJD)
5. T M Jacob (Kerala Congress-J)
6. K B Ganesh Kumar (Kerala Congress-B)
7. Shibu Baby John (RSP-B).

The cabinet is likely to be expanded on May 23. The UDF had come to an agreement with its alliance partners on sharing the ministerial berths and portfolios. According to this, Congress will have 9 ministers, 3 from IUML and one more minister from Kerala Congress (Mani). The swearing in ceremony was attended by CPM leader and veteran V S Achuthanandan, KPCC president Ramesh Chennithala, Union ministers Mullapally Ramachandran etc.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...