Skip to content


Uttarakhand is all set for Assembly Elections 2012. The voters of the state are going to elect their new government. It appears that there will be a close fight between the Congress and BJP. BC Khanduri and ND Tiwari are the master strategists for BJP and Congress respectively. The news channels such as Aajtak, Star News, Zee News, CNN - IBN, Headlines Today, Times Now, NDTV 24x7, NDTV India etc will conduct Exit polls after the end of polling on 30th January 2012. Along with Uttarakhand, another key state, Punjab is also going for Assembly Elections on 30th January 2012.

Counting of votes and declaration of results for Uttarakhand will be on March 5, 2012. The total list of winners and losers will be announced on the same day. The political analysts are predicting Hung assembly in Uttarakhand. The BSP of Mayawat is going to play crucial role in Uttarakhand elections in the case of Hung Assembly. In the 2007 elections in Uttarakhand, BJP, Congress and BSP have secured 34, 21 and 8 seats respectively. Following are the brief statistics for Assembly elections 2012:

1) Total Assembly Constituencies: 70
2) Total candidates contesting the polls: 788
3) Women candidates: 63
4) Male Voters: 3353563
5) Female Voters: 3025353
6) Total Voters: 63,78,916
7) Total polling stations: 9806
8) EVMs to be used: 11299
9) Constituencies with maximum number of candidates: Sahaspur and BHEL Ranipur (23 candidates each)
10) Constituency with minimum candidates: Lohaghat (3 candidates)
11) Largest Constituency (Electorate wise): Haridwar
12) Smallest constituency (Electorate wise): Purola

Party Wise Candidates list:

1) BJP: 70 candidates
2) BSP: 70 candidates
3) Congress: 70 candidates
4) UKD (P): 44 candidates
5) NCP: 20 candidates
6) CPI (M): 6 candidates
7) CPI : 5 candidates
8) Independents and others: 503 candidates

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...