Skip to content


Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy is a brother of late Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy. He represented Kadapa Parliamentary Comstituency for 2 terms in 13th and 14th Lok Sabha Elections. He was elected as an MLA for two terms during 1989-96. Presently, Vivekananda Reddy has become a contentious man after his induction into the cabinet of N. Kiran Kumar Reddy. He was elected to Legislative Council during YSR period. Though Viveka has been with Y.S. Jagan Mogan Reddy for some time after the death of YSR, the Congress high command has successfully taken him into its fold through offering a cabinet berth along with all important portfolio of Agriculture. This has also careated a rift between Y.S. Jagan Reddy and Vivekananda Reddy. This was his first entry into state cabinet in his political career.

Though the Congress has succeeded in spliting YSR family in order to restrict Y.S. Jagan's influence, the capabilities of Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy in controlling the Congress party MLAs in Kadapa district are not at all convincing. Most of the cadre and representatives of the party are openly defying the dictats of bosses at Delhi and state, and continues to support Jagan. At the moment, the congress party is trying its best to shorten the winning margin of Y.S. Jagan in the forth coming bye elections to Kadapa and Pulivendula constituencies. We have to wait and watch to know how far Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy will succeed in these efforts!

NameY.S. Vivekananda Reddy
Party Name Indian National Congress (INC)
Email Addressvivekanand@sansad.
Father’s NameY.S. Raja Reddy
Mother’s NameSmt. Y.S. Jayamma
Date of Birth01-04-1950
Place of BirthPulivendula, Kadapa District, Andhra Pradesh.
Marital StatusMarried
Date of Marriage15 Feb 1973
Spouse’s NameSmt. Y.S. Sowbhagya
No.of Children1 Daughter
Educational QualificationsB.Sc. (Agriculture)
Educated at : S.V. Agricultural College, Tirupathi, Andhra Pradesh
Profession Agriculture, Politics
Permanent Address8/186, Raja Reddy Street, Pullivendla, Post and Mandal,
Kadapa Dist., Andhra Pradesh. Phone No:
(08568) 226205, 226248.
Positions Held1. 1989-96: Member, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly (two terms)

2. 1999: Elected to 13th Lok Sabha

3. 1999-2000 Member, Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests

4. 2004: Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha ( 2nd term)

5. Member, Committee on Agriculture

6. 5 Aug. 2007: Member, Committee on Agriculture

7. MLC of AP Legislative COuncil

Present PositionFrom December 2010: Minister for Agriculture
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...