Skip to content

Profile of Kadapa Lok Sabha Constituency 2011

Following is the brief profile of Kadapa Lok Sabha Constituency, which is going for bye elections on 8th May 2011. Kadapa Parliamentary Constituency has been considered highly prestigious by all major political parties in the state, the Congress, YSR Congress and Telugu Desam. The series of political developments after the death of YS Rajasekhar Reddy have lead to the resignation of YS Jagan Mohan Reddy to his MP seat along with the primary membership of the Congress Party. The popularity gained during the regime of YSR has brought so much significance to Kadapa as a politically strong district and a Parliamentary Constituency. Here is the profile of the constituency along with key political statistics:

Kadapa was earlier known as Cuddapah which is South Indian city in Andhra Pradesh. The Kadapa Parliamentary Constituency is located in the south-central part of the Andhra Pradesh. The Kadapa city is situated 8 kilometers from the famous Penna River. Kadapa is also known as the headquarters of the Rayalaseema region of the Andhra Pradesh. Kadapa has a population of 3, 25, 725 according to 2001 census. It might have crossed 4 lakhs in 2011 census. The population numbers of males and females are divided almost equally. Here are these statistics as per 2001 census:

1. Male Electors: 559824
2. Female Electors : 583538
3. Total Electors : 1143362

Contestants for 2011 bye elections are:

1. YS Jagan Mohan Reddy: YSR Congress Party
2. DL Raveendra Reddy: Congress
3. MV Mysoora Reddy : TDP

Assembly Constituencies falls under Kadapa Parliamentary Constituency

1. Cuddapah / Kadapa
2. Badvel (SC)
3. Mydukur
4. Proddatur
5. Jammalamadugu
6. Kamalapuram
7. Pulivendula

Following are the winners of Kadapa Lok Sabha (MP) Constituency till the date:

1. 1952-57: Y. Eswara Reddy (CPI)
2. 1957-62: L. BaliReddy (Congress)
3. 1962-67: Y. Eswara Reddy (CPI)
4. 1967-71: Y. Eswara Reddy (CPI)
5. 1971-77: Y. Eswara Reddy (CPI)
6. 1977-80: Kandula Obul Reddy (Congress)
7. 1980-84: Kandula Obul Reddy (Congress)
8. 1984-89: D.N. Reddy (Telugu Desam)
9. 1989-91: Y. S. Raja Shekhar Reddy (Congress)
10. 1991-96: Y. S. Raja Shekhar Reddy (Congress)
11. 1996-98: Y. S. Raja Shekhar Reddy (Congress)
12. 1998-99: Y. S. Raja Shekhar Reddy (Congress)
13. 1999-04: Y. S. Vivekananda Reddy (Congress)
14. 2004-2009: Y. S. Vivekananda Reddy (Congress)
15. 2009-2010: Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy (Congress)
16. 2011 -

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

1 thought on “Profile of Kadapa Lok Sabha Constituency 2011

  1. Madhu

    Hi Sir,
    If you will give a opportunity to Yong generations in YSR congress party and communicating through online with logical manner then sir you are the Top in A.P. for ever and you are the youngest CM of A.P .As a software engineer i am ready to dedicate the life for the YSR real followers.

    Thanks & Regards:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *