The Central Election Commission is gearing up to conduct state elections due in February - March 2017. The states that will go for assembly elections are Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Uttarakhand and Manipur.

The Election Commission is of the opinion to conduct elections after the presentation of central budget in February 2017. The Assembly elections in UP will be held in seven phases.

Assembly elections for Goa, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Manipur will be held in a single phase. The elections are likely to be completed by the third week of March 2017.

Uttar Pradesh is witnessing a lot of political activity with huge crisis in the ruling Samajwadi Party (SP). The BJP is keen on securing the power after 15 years in Uttar Pradesh. The BJP - Akali alliance in Punjab is facing tough fight from the Congress and AAP.

Though the Supreme court has reinstated the Congress government in Uttarakhand, it is facing internal crisis. The BJP in Goa is also facing similar situation with rivalries within the party.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Share This: