Skip to content

MLAs and MPs of Vizianagaram District

Vizianagaram district is known for its loyalty towards Telugu Desam Party till 2004 Assembly Elections. The 2009 elections changed the political landscape of the district with 7 out of 9 constituencies voted for the Congress Party. Important politicians in the district are Botcha Satyanarayana, Ashok Gajapathi Raju etc. The Botcha family has been successful in influencing the state level leadership of the Congress Party and eliciting more seats for themselves and their followers. The family has three representatives in total from the district. Main leader of the TDP from the district, Ashok Gajapathi Raju managed to step in the Assembly from Vizianagaram segment.

Vizianagaram or Vijayanagaram district is part of the Northern Coastal districts of Andhra Pradesh. Vizianagaram has vibrant history and culture. The district is bounded by Srikakulam district on the East, Visakhapatnam on Southwest, Bay of Bengal on the Southeast and Orissa State on the northwest. The district was carved out in 1979 from neighboring Visakhapatnam and Srikakulam districts. Following is the list of MLAs and MPs from the district after 2009 Assembly and General elections:

MLAs and MPs of Vizianagaram District:

1. Cheepurupalle: Botcha Satyanarayana – Congress Party
2. Vizianagaram: Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati – Telugu Desam
3. Bobbili: Venkata Sujay Krishna Ranga Rao Ravu– Congress Party
4. Kurupam: Janardhana That Raj Veera Vara Thodaramala – Congress Party
5. Srungavarapukota: Kolla Lalitha Kumari – Telugu Desam
6. Gajapathinagaram: Appalanarasayya Botcha – Congress Party
7. Salur: Rajanna Dora Peedika – Congress Party
8. Parvathipuram: Jayamani Savarapu - Congress Party
9. Nellimarla: Appalanaidu Baddukonda – Congress Party

MPs of Vizianagaram District:

1. Vizianagaram: Jhansi Lakshmi Botcha – Congress Party

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *