Skip to content

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections Schedule 2012 – Party Position in 2007

The schedule for Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012 is under the process of finalization. The hill state is likely to go for polls in November 2012 in two phases. The last Assembly elections to the 68 member Vidhan Sabha were held in 2007. The tenure of the present Assembly will expire in January 2013. The Election Commission of India (EC) is likely to release official Assembly Election Schedule for Himachal Pradesh (HP) in September 2012. Following are tentative dates and position of 2007 elections.

According to the officials of the Stage Government the probable election dates are November 5 and November 25. The tribal region of the state will go for polls on November 5, 2012 and remaining state on 25th November 2012. The results of the polls will be announced on 12th December 2012.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won in 41 constituencies in 2007 Assembly elections under the leadership of Prem Kumar Dhumal. The election commission may go for the early polls due to snowfall in tribal region. Himachal Pradesh has 68 Assembly Constituencies. Five constituencies will comes under the snowbound tribal districts, namely Bharmour, Lahaul Spiti, Kinnuar, Dodra Kawar of Shimla and Bara and Chauta Bengal of Kangra district.

Following are the seats won by parties in 2007 Vidhan Sabha elections:

1) Bharatiay Janata Party (BJP): 41 seats (Contested in all 68 seats and got 43.78 vote percentage).
2) Indian National Congress (INC): 19 seats (Contested in 67 seats and got the vote percentage of 38.9)
3) Independents: 3 seats
4) Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP): 1 seat (Contested in 67 seats and got vote percentage of 7.26).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *