Skip to content

Prathipadu Assembly Constituency – Sucharitha Vs Veeraiah

The Prathipadu constituency in Guntur district of Andhra Pradesh is all set to witness close fight in this bye elections to be held in June 2012. Pro Jagan Congress MLA, Mekathoti Sucharitha was disqualified for her anti party activities. Now she will be contesting from this Reserved Constituency on the symbol of YSR Congress Party (YSRCP). The Congress Party and the TDP also finalized their candidates and gearing up for the semi- final fight on 12th June 2012.

Once a strong hold of Telugu Desam Party and its former leader and minister Makineni Peda Rathaiah, Prathipadu has changed a lot after 2009 elections. Makineni Peda Rathaiah won five terms from Prathipadu consecutively. He lost to Ravi Venkata Ramana of the Congress Party in 2004 Assembly elections. It was reserved for SC category in 2009 elections. The TDP has announced the candidature of Kandula Veeraiah for Prathipadu Constituency for ensuing bye elections. He lost 2009 elections with a narrow margin.

The Congress Party is in a weak position in the Constituency. K. Vijaya, Sudhakar Babu (State Youth Congress chief), Korivi Vinay Kumar of Dalit Bahujan front are keen to contest from the constituency on the Congress ticket. Sudhakar Babu has almost got the nod from the Congress high command. There is internal strife within the Congress over his candidature and the party is also finding it difficult to pacify them. After delimitation of constituencies, parts of Guntur Rural and Kakumanu are included in Prathipadu Constituency. The TDP is keen on securing votes in these areas.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *