Skip to content

Profile of Ongole Assembly Constituency – Damacharla Vs Balineni

TDP and the Congress parties have equal say in Ongole Assembly Constituency. Three times winner Balineni Srinivas Reddy is in bye elections fray from the constituency. This time he is contesting on the ticket of YSR Congress Party. He won Ongole seat in 1999, 2004 and 2009 Assembly elections. The TDP is fielding Damacharla Janardhan and the Congress is likely to select a candidate from Parvataneni Anand, Manthri Srinivasa Rao and Ainabattina Ghana Syam. The polling for bye elections will be held on 12th June 2012.

It is testing time for Balineni Srinivasa Reddy as he has to face general anti-incumbency factor. He has been representing the constituency since 1999. On the other hand, the TDP candidate, D. Janardhan is equally competent and likely to give tough fight to Balineni. The Congress may tilt towards Manthri Srinivasa Rao. He is backed by Mahidhar Reddy, cabinet minister.

The Ongole constituency has a great political history. Freedom fighter, Tanguturi Prakasam pantulu was elected from Ongole constituency in 1955. Sir CR Reddy was also represented the segment in 1967. From 1983, the constituency was represented by Panugupati Koteswara Rao of TDP for two terms. Later, Bachala Balaiah of the Congress and Edara Haribabu of the TDP won in 1989 and 1994 elections respectively. As already said, it is hat-trick win for Balineni from 1999 elections. Let us see whether he continues his winning streak or not!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *